All posts by Vicar Alyce Keener

Born in Columbus, Ohio, Alyce has been called in two directions from an early age: Teaching and God. She has been active in churches all her life, prays every day and studied at Moody Bible Institute in Chicago. She has lived in Georgia since 1995.

Lent 2020 Readings, Worship Schedule and Worship Topics

• Wednesday, February 26, 2020: Ash Wednesday Service with FCCD for distribution of ashes 7pm
• Thursday, February 27, 2020: Psalm 51; Jonah 3:1-10; Romans 1:1-7
• Friday, February 28, 2020: Psalm 51; Jonah 4:1-11; Romans 1:8-17
• Saturday, February 29, 2020: Psalm 51; Isaiah 58:1-12; Matthew 18:1-7
• Sunday, March 1, 2020: First Sunday in Lent Matthew 6:1-4 “Step Aside”
• Monday, March 2, 2020: Psalm 32; 1 Kings 19:1-8; Hebrews 2:10-18
• Tuesday, March 3, 2020: Psalm 32; Genesis 4:1-16; Hebrews 4:14-5:10
• Wednesday, March 4, 2020: Psalm 32; Exodus 34:1-9, 27-28; Matthew 18:10-14
• Thursday, March 5, 2020: Psalm 121; Isaiah 51:1-3; 2 Timothy 1:3-7
• Friday, March 6, 2020: Psalm 121; Micah 7:18-20; Romans 3:21-31
• Saturday, March 7, 2020: Psalm 121; Isaiah 51:4-8; Luke 7:1-10
• Sunday, March 8, 2020: Second Sunday in Lent “Pray Like This” Matthew 6:5-18
• Monday, March 9, 2020: Psalm 128; Numbers 21:4-9; Hebrews 3:1-6
• Tuesday, March 10, 2020: Psalm 128; Isaiah 65:17-25; Romans 4:6-13
• Wednesday, March 11, 2020: Psalm 128; Ezekiel 36:22-32; John 7:53-8:11
• Thursday, March 12, 2020: Psalm 95; Exodus 16:1-8; Colossians 1:15-23
• Friday, March 13, 2020: Psalm 95; Exodus 16:9-21; Ephesians 2:11-22
• Saturday, March 14, 2020: Psalm 95; Exodus 16:27-35; John 4:1-6
• Sunday, March 15, 2020: Third Sunday in Lent “Our Pre-Occupation” Matthew 6:19-34
• Monday, March 16, 2020: Psalm 81; Genesis 24:1-27; 2 John 1:1-13
• Tuesday, March 17, 2020: Psalm 81; Genesis 29:1-14; 1 Corinthians 10:1-4
• Wednesday, March 18, 2020: Psalm 81; Jeremiah 2:4-13; John 7:14-31, 37-39
• Thursday, March 19, 2020: Psalm 23; 1 Samuel 15:10-21; Ephesians 4:25-32
• Friday, March 20, 2020: Psalm 23; 1 Samuel 15:22-31; Ephesians 5:1-9
• Saturday, March 21, 2020: Psalm 23; 1 Samuel 15:32-34; John 1:1-9
• Sunday, March 22, 2020: Fourth Sunday in Lent “Priorities” Matthew 7:1-12
• Monday, March 23, 2020: Psalm 146; Isaiah 59:9-19; Acts 9:1-20
• Tuesday, March 24, 2020: Psalm 146; Isaiah 42:14-21; Colossians 1:9-14
• Wednesday, March 25, 2020: Psalm 146; Isaiah 60:17-22; Matthew 9:27-34
• Thursday, March 26, 2020: Psalm 130; Ezekiel 1:1-3, 2:8-3:3; Revelation 10:1-11
• Friday, March 27, 2020: Psalm 130; Ezekiel 33:10-16; Revelation 11:15-19
• Saturday, March 28, 2020: Psalm 130; Ezekiel 36:8-15; Luke 24:44-53
• Sunday, March 29, 2020: Fifth Sunday in Lent “More than Words” Matthew 7:13-29
• Monday, March 30, 2020: Psalm 143; 1 Kings 17:17-24; Acts 20:7-12
• Tuesday, March 31, 2020: Psalm 143; 2 Kings 4:18-37; Ephesians 2:1-10
• Wednesday, April 1, 2020: Psalm 143; Jeremiah 32:1-9, 36-41; Matthew 22:23-33
• Thursday, April 2, 2020: Psalm 31:9-16; 1 Samuel 16:11-13; Philippians 1:1-11
• Friday, April 3, 2020: Psalm 31:9-16; Job 13:13-19; Philippians 1:21-30
• Saturday, April 4, 2020: Psalm 31:9-16; Lamentations 3:55-66; Mark 10:32-34
• Sunday, April 5, 2020: Blessing of the Palms
• Thursday, April 9, 2020: Maundy Thursday 7pm with FCCD
• Friday, April 10, 2020: Good Friday 7pm at the foot of the Cross with FCCD

Vicar Alyce Keener

About Vicar Alyce Keener

Born in Columbus, Ohio, Alyce has been called in two directions from an early age: Teaching and God. She has been active in churches all her life, prays every day and studied at Moody Bible Institute in Chicago. She has lived in Georgia since 1995.

Lent 2019 Readings

The 2019 Lenten season commences on Ash Wednesday, March 6th, and ends on Maundy Thursday, April 18th.

Our theme this year is Taking Our Inventory. We all have our own ways of doing personal inventory — but how do you take a biblical survey based off the readings we have?

Three questions to consider:

  • In the readings, which verse stood out from the others?
  • Why did this verse ring a chord with me?
  • How does or should this influence my life today?

When I mentioned these three, Pastor Paul added a challenge: Sit in front of a mirror and look at yourself with your bible in hand. Consider that you were uniquely created in the image of God — who loves that image in the mirror, unconditionally. So can you say that you do too?

Take these steps in hand and read your bible day, taking time to inventory yourself in front of that mirror.

Readings and Sermon Titles:

  • Thursday, March 7: Psalm 91:1-2, 9-16; Exodus 5:10-23; Acts 7:30-34
  • Friday, March 8: Psalm 91:1-2, 9-16; Exodus 6:1-13; Acts 7:35-42
  • Saturday, March 9: Psalm 91:1-2, 9-16; Ecclesiastes 3:1-8; John 12:27-36

Sunday, March 10 (Lent 1): Psalm 91:1-2, 9-16; Romans 10:8b-13; Luke 4:1-13. Sermon: “Jesus’ Test is Our Test” (Vicar Alyce)

  • Monday, March 11: Psalm 17; 1 Chronicles 21:1-17; 1 John 2:1-6
  • Tuesday, March 12: Psalm 17; Zechariah 3:1-10; 2 Peter 2:4-21
  • Wednesday, March 13: Psalm 17; Job 1:1-22; Luke 21:34-22:6
  • Thursday, March 14: Psalm 27; Genesis 13:1-7, 14-18; Philippians 3:2-12
  • Friday, March 15: Psalm 27; Genesis 14:17-24; Philippians 3:17-20
  • Saturday, March 16: Psalm 27; Psalm 118:26-29; Matthew 23:37-39

Sunday, March 17 (Lent 2): Psalm 27; Philippians 3:17-4:1; Luke 9:28-36, (37-43a). Sermon: “Time’s Up” (Pastor Paul)

  • Monday, March 18: Psalm 105:1-42; Exodus 33:1-6; Romans 4:1-12
  • Tuesday, March 19: Psalm 105:1-42; Numbers 14:10b-24; 1 Corinthians 10:1-13
  • Wednesday, March 20: Psalm 105:1-42; 2 Chronicles 20:1-22; Luke 13:22-31
  • Thursday, March 21: Psalm 63:1-8; Daniel 3:19-30; Revelation 2:8-11
  • Friday, March 22: Psalm 63:1-8; Daniel 12:1-4; Revelation 3:1-6
  • Saturday, March 23: Psalm 63:1-8; Isaiah 5:1-7; Luke 6:43-45

Sunday, March 24 (Lent 3): Psalm 63:1-8; 1 Corinthians 10:1-13; Luke 13:1-9. Sermon: “One More Year” (Pastor Paul)

  • Monday, March 25: Psalm 39; Jeremiah 11:1-17; Romans 2:1-11
  • Tuesday, March 26: Psalm 39; Ezekiel 17:1-10; Romans 2:12-16
  • Wednesday, March 27: Psalm 39; Numbers 13:17-27; Luke 13:18-21
  • Thursday, March 28: Psalm 32; Joshua 4:1-13; 2 Corinthians 4:16-5:5
  • Friday, March 29: Psalm 32; Joshua 4:14-24; 2 Corinthians 5:6-15
  • Saturday, March 30: Psalm 32; Exodus 32:7-14; Luke 15:1-10

Sunday, March 31 (Lent 4): Psalm 32; 2 Corinthians 5:16-21; Luke 15:1-3, 11b-32. Sermon: “Is this Plain Enough?” (Pastor Paul)

  • Monday, April 1: Psalm 53; Leviticus 23:26-41; Revelation 19:1-8
  • Tuesday, April 2: Psalm 53; Leviticus 25:1-19; Revelation 19:9-10
  • Wednesday, April 3: Psalm 53; 2 Kings 4:1-7; Luke 9:10-17
  • Thursday, April 4: Psalm 126; Isaiah 43:1-7; Philippians 2:19-24
  • Friday, April 5: Psalm 126; Isaiah 43:8-15; Philippians 2:25-3:1
  • Saturday, April 6: Psalm 126; Exodus 12:21-27; John 11:45-57

Sunday, April 7 (Lent 5): Psalm 126; Philippians 3:4b-14; John 12:1-8. Sermon: “Priorities!” (Pastor Paul)

  • Monday, April 8: Psalm 20; Exodus 40:1-15; Hebrews 10:19-25
  • Tuesday, April 9: Psalm 20; Judges 9:7-15; 1 John 2:18-28
  • Wednesday, April 10: Psalm 20; Habakkuk 3:2-15; Luke 18:31-34
  • Thursday, April 11: Psalm 31:9-16; Isaiah 53:10-12; Hebrews 2:1-9
  • Friday, April 12: Psalm 31:9-16; Isaiah 54:9-10; Hebrews 2:10-18
  • Saturday, April 13: Psalm 31:9-16; Leviticus 23:1-8; Luke 22:1-13

Palm Sunday, April 14 (Lent 6): Psalm 118:1-2, 19-29; Luke 19:28-40. Sermon: “I Love a Parade” (Pastor Paul)

Holy Week:

  • Monday, April 15: Isaiah 42:1-9; Psalm 36:5-11; Hebrews 9:11-15; John 12:1-11
  • Tuesday, April 16: Isaiah 49:1-7; Psalm 71:1-14; 1 Corinthians 1:18-31; John 12:20-36
  • Wednesday, April 17: Isaiah 50:4-9a; Psalm 70; Hebrews 12:1-3; John 13:21-32
  • Holy Saturday, April 20: Job 14:1-14; Psalm 31:1-4, 15-16; 1 Peter 4:1-8; Matthew 27:57-66 or John 19:38-42

Easter Sunday, April 21: Acts 10:34-43 or Psalm 118:1-2, 14-24; Acts 10:34-43; Luke 24:1-12. Sermon: “The Empty Tomb” (Pastor Paul)

Vicar Alyce Keener

About Vicar Alyce Keener

Born in Columbus, Ohio, Alyce has been called in two directions from an early age: Teaching and God. She has been active in churches all her life, prays every day and studied at Moody Bible Institute in Chicago. She has lived in Georgia since 1995.

How to Study the Bible: Philippians

How to Study the Bible: Here’s a great way to get started with self-guided bible study. In the congregation we’re using this method to study Philippians, and you’re welcome to follow along.

Here are some resources:

  • Our Bible Study Guide (downloads automatically after you click it).
  • The Word Hand (opens in a new window), a classic method for hearing, reading, studying, memorizing and meditating over a bible verse.
  • The full text of Philippians in a Word document  (downloads automatically after you click it) so you can print your own with wide enough margins to make notes.
  • The video (below) of my sermon “Accepting the Challenge”, where we kick off our congregation’s study of Philippians.

Vicar Alyce Keener

About Vicar Alyce Keener

Born in Columbus, Ohio, Alyce has been called in two directions from an early age: Teaching and God. She has been active in churches all her life, prays every day and studied at Moody Bible Institute in Chicago. She has lived in Georgia since 1995.